Comparison

Yako vs Xero for UAE and Nigerian SMEs

Xero is one of the best-known cloud accounting tools, and it sells in the UAE in US dollars. Yako is newer and built around bank statements and tax in the UAE and Nigeria. Here is how they compare on each company's own published information as of 20 October 2026, including Xero's price change on 1 November 2026 and where Xero is the better choice.

Key facts

  • Xero UAE prices until 31 October 2026, in USD per month: Lite $7, Starter $29, Standard $50, Premium $75. (source, as of 20 October 2026)
  • Xero UAE prices from 1 November 2026, in USD per month: Lite $7 (unchanged), Starter $32, Standard $54, Premium $82. The multi-organisation discount ends on that date. (source, as of 20 October 2026)
  • Xero Starter: send quotes and 20 invoices, enter 5 bills. Multi-currency is on Premium only. (source, as of 20 October 2026)
  • Yako: US$49 per workspace (legal entity) per month, unlimited team members, outside advisers included, 300 AI credits a month on the Standard plan (extra credits available; reading CSV and Excel statements doesn't use credits), 15-day free trial with no card. (source, as of 20 October 2026)

The short version

Xero is a mature cloud accounting platform. It has:

  • automatic bank feeds;
  • an app store for connected apps;
  • a large network of accountants and bookkeepers who use it;
  • UAE VAT features: VAT201 mapping, Arabic reports and FTA Audit Files.

You pay per organisation, in US dollars. Plans differ in invoice and bill limits, cash-flow forecasting and multi-currency.

Yako starts from the bank statements you upload and turns them into an approved ledger and full financial statements. It lays out UAE VAT in the VAT201 boxes and has the Nigeria Tax Act 2025 built in. It is one flat price per legal entity, with unlimited team members, accountant access and 300 AI credits a month on the Standard plan; extra credits are available, and reading CSV and Excel statements doesn’t use credits.

It doesn’t file returns for you, has no live bank connections, and its e-invoicing isn’t live yet.

Prices and features below come from each company’s own pages, read on 20 October 2026. Xero’s prices change on 1 November 2026, so we show both.

Side by side

Yako and Xero side by side
ItemYakoXero
Published price (USD a month)$49 per workspace (legal entity)Lite $7, Starter $29, Standard $50, Premium $75 until 31 October 2026; from 1 November 2026: Lite $7, Starter $32, Standard $54, Premium $82
Usage allowances300 AI credits a month on the Standard plan; extra credits available; reading CSV and Excel statements doesn’t use creditsStarter: quotes and 20 invoices, 5 bills; Standard and Premium show no such limits
Team membersUnlimitedNot stated on Xero’s pricing page
Accountant or adviser accessIncluded: invite an accountant, auditor or tax adviser for a set period with chosen permissionsXero lists accountants and bookkeepers who use Xero; seat terms not stated on the pricing page
UAE VATReturn laid out in VAT201 boxes from your books; you file in EmaraTaxMaps data to VAT201, Arabic and English reports, FTA Audit File; you upload to EmaraTax (per Xero)
Bank transactionsUpload statements (PDF, CSV, Excel); no live bank connectionsBank feeds (Xero names Wio Bank and Alaan among others) and reconciliation on all plans
CurrenciesOne base currency per workspace; foreign-currency bank accounts with revaluation; invoices in the workspace currencyMultiple currencies on Premium only
UAE e-invoicingNot live yetXero says it supports UAE e-invoicing
Nigeria taxNigeria Tax Act 2025 built in: PAYE with rent relief, company tax, VAT 7.5%, withholding taxNot compared
Free trial15 days, no cardFree trial offered; Xero’s page mentions a free month
CancellingCancel any time; data isn’t deletedCancel with one month’s notice

Xero plan prices (USD per month, as shown on xero.com/ae on 20 October 2026):

Xero plan prices
PlanUntil 31 October 2026From 1 November 2026
Lite$7$7 (unchanged)
Starter$29$32
Standard$50$54
Premium$75$82

Xero also lists optional add-ons:

  • employee expense and mileage claims, from $4 a month;
  • project time and cost tracking, from $7 a month;
  • auto-reconcile on Starter, at $5 a month.

Xero says add-on prices aren’t changing on 1 November, but its multi-organisation discount ends on that date.

How they differ in practice

Bank data. Xero brings transactions in through bank feeds. Yako reads the statements you download from your bank, as PDF, CSV or Excel. That is more manual each month, but it works the same whichever bank you use. Every line is coded and approved by a person before it posts.

What you pay for. Xero’s lower plans limit invoices and bills, and multi-currency sits on the top plan. Yako has one plan at one price per entity, with 300 AI credits a month on the Standard plan and extra credits available, so a growing business doesn’t move up plans. For a single entity, Yako’s $49 is below Xero Premium both before and after 1 November. See Yako’s pricing.

UAE e-invoicing. Xero’s UAE site says it supports UAE e-invoicing. Under the UAE rules you appoint an accredited service provider in EmaraTax. Xero’s name doesn’t appear on the Ministry of Finance list we checked on 20 October 2026, so ask Xero which provider you would appoint. E-invoicing isn’t live in Yako yet. See our UAE e-invoicing guide for the dates.

Two countries. If you run companies in both the UAE and Nigeria, Yako keeps each as its own workspace under one login and one bill, with each country’s tax rules built in. See Nigerian tax in Yako and UAE VAT and Corporate Tax in Yako.

Who should choose Xero instead

Xero is likely the better fit if:

  • You want automatic bank feeds rather than uploading statements. Yako has no live bank connections.
  • Your accountant already works in Xero, or you want to choose from accountants who do.
  • You rely on add-on apps that connect through the Xero App Store.
  • You invoice in several currencies from one company and are happy to be on Premium.
  • You need e-invoicing sooner than Yako can offer it.
  • You are a micro-business that only needs basic invoicing and reconciliation: Xero Lite is $7 a month.

Who Yako suits

  • Owners who work from bank statements and want a P&L, balance sheet, trial balance and cash flow from them.
  • Businesses that want one flat price per entity and a single plan, without per-plan feature tiers.
  • Teams that want their accountant or tax adviser in the books at no extra cost, with access that ends on a set date.
  • Groups with entities in the UAE and Nigeria, which want both countries’ tax handled in one place.

Common questions

How much does Xero cost in the UAE?
Xero's UAE pricing page, read on 20 October 2026, lists Lite at 7 US dollars a month, Starter at 29, Standard at 50 and Premium at 75. Xero says Starter, Standard and Premium rise from 1 November 2026, to 32, 54 and 82 US dollars a month, and Lite stays at 7.
Is Xero increasing its prices in November 2026?
Yes, according to Xero. From 1 November 2026, Starter goes from 29 to 32 US dollars a month, Standard from 50 to 54 and Premium from 75 to 82, for new and existing subscribers billed in US dollars. Xero also says its multi-organisation discount will no longer apply from that date. Optional add-on prices are not changing.
How much does Yako cost compared with Xero?
Yako is 49 US dollars per workspace per month, where a workspace is one legal entity's books, with unlimited team members and outside advisers included. That sits between Xero's Standard and Premium prices from 1 November 2026. The plan includes 300 AI credits a month, extra credits are available, and reading CSV and Excel statements doesn't use credits.
Does Xero's Starter plan limit invoices?
Yes. Xero's pricing page says Starter lets you send quotes and 20 invoices and enter 5 bills, and that the invoice limit covers both approving and sending invoices. Standard and Premium don't show those limits.
Which Xero plan has multi-currency?
On Xero's UAE pricing page, using multiple currencies is listed on the Premium plan only. In Yako, each workspace has one base currency, foreign-currency bank accounts are supported with month-end revaluation, and invoices are issued in the workspace currency.
Can Xero file my UAE VAT return?
Xero says it maps your data to the VAT201 fields, shows VAT reports in Arabic and English, creates FTA Audit Files, and that you then upload or submit the return in EmaraTax. Yako also lays your return out in the VAT201 boxes, and you or your adviser file it in EmaraTax.
Does Xero work for businesses in Nigeria?
We haven't compared Xero's Nigerian tax features, so check with Xero. Yako has the Nigeria Tax Act 2025 built in from 1 January 2026, including PAYE with rent relief, the small-company test, VAT at 7.5% and withholding tax on bills.

Sources

About this comparison

Prices and features were read from each company’s own website on 20 October 2026. Xero’s prices change on 1 November 2026, and both companies can change their pages at any time. Check the vendor’s page before you buy. We make Yako, so we have tried to say plainly where Xero is stronger. For Zoho Books and the wider picture, see all comparisons. If anything here is out of date, email support@yakobooks.com and we’ll correct it.

Try it free for 15 days. No card.

Upload a real bank statement and see your VAT201 boxes in Yako, free for 15 days, no card.

Then $49 per workspace per month. Your data exports any time.

Start free trial