Comparisons

Accounting software for UAE SMEs, compared

Most comparison pages are written by a vendor or one of its resellers. This one is too: we make Yako. So we use only what each company publishes about itself, date every price, and say where the others are the better choice.

Key facts

  • Zoho Books UAE: Free plan up to AED 200,000 revenue a year; paid plans AED 60 to AED 660 per organisation per month billed annually (AED 69 to AED 799 billed monthly), excluding local taxes. (source, as of 20 October 2026)
  • Xero UAE: Lite $7, Starter $29, Standard $50, Premium $75 a month; from 1 November 2026 Starter $32, Standard $54, Premium $82 (Lite unchanged). (source, as of 20 October 2026)
  • Yako: US$49 per workspace (legal entity) per month, unlimited team members and outside advisers included; 300 AI credits a month on the Standard plan, extra credits available; reading CSV and Excel statements doesn't use credits. (source, as of 20 October 2026)
  • The Ministry of Finance publishes the official list of accredited e-invoicing service providers. (source, as of 20 October 2026)

How we compared

We read each company’s own UAE website on 20 October 2026: its pricing page and, where needed, its UAE VAT or e-invoicing page. We haven’t used review sites, reseller pages or search summaries. Prices are as published, in the currency each vendor uses. Zoho states that its prices exclude local taxes. Xero’s prices change on 1 November 2026, and we show both.

We make Yako. To keep this useful, each comparison has a section on who should choose the other product.

At a glance

Yako, Zoho Books and Xero at a glance
ItemYakoZoho BooksXero
Published priceUS$49 per workspace (legal entity) a monthFree (revenue up to AED 200,000 a year); paid AED 69 to AED 799 a month monthly, or AED 60 to AED 660 billed annually, per organisationUS$7 to US$75 a month until 31 October 2026; US$7 to US$82 from 1 November 2026
UsersUnlimited1 to 15 by plan; extra users chargedNot stated on pricing page
Usage allowances300 AI credits a month on the Standard plan; extra credits available; reading CSV and Excel statements doesn’t use creditsYearly invoice and bill/expense limits by planStarter: 20 invoices, 5 bills
Accountant accessIncluded, time-limited engagementsFree plan lists 1 accountantNot stated on pricing page
UAE VAT returnVAT201 boxes from your books; you file in EmaraTaxDirect VAT filing from Standard (per Zoho)Maps to VAT201; you upload to EmaraTax (per Xero)
UAE e-invoicingNot live yetAccredited service provider; add-on from ProfessionalSays it supports UAE e-invoicing
Bank dataStatement upload (PDF, CSV, Excel); no live bank connectionsBank reconciliation on all plansBank feeds and reconciliation
Multi-currencyOne base currency per workspace; foreign-currency bank accountsFrom ProfessionalPremium only
Nigeria taxNigeria Tax Act 2025 built inNot comparedNot compared
Free trial15 days, no card14 days, plus a Free planFree trial; a free month mentioned

The comparisons

  • Yako vs Zoho Books: prices for all six Zoho plans, user limits, VAT filing, Corporate Tax and e-invoicing, and when Zoho Books is the better fit.
  • Yako vs Xero: Xero’s prices before and after 1 November 2026, Starter’s invoice and bill limits, multi-currency, UAE VAT and Nigeria, and when Xero is the better fit.

What to check in any UAE accounting software

Whatever you choose, ask these questions before you commit:

  1. VAT201. Does it lay out your return in the FTA’s VAT201 boxes, including reverse charge and the emirate split for standard-rated sales? Does it file for you, or do you file in EmaraTax? Our VAT return guide explains each box.
  2. E-invoicing. Is the vendor an accredited service provider on the Ministry of Finance list, does it connect to one, or neither? When will it be ready for your phase? Businesses below AED 50 million revenue must appoint a provider by 31 March 2027 and go live by 1 July 2027. See our UAE e-invoicing guide.
  3. Corporate Tax. Does it give you the financial statements your return is built on, and your revenue for each financial year for the Small Business Relief test?
  4. Your accountant. Can your accountant or tax adviser get into the books, at what cost, and can you end their access?
  5. Users and companies. What does it cost as your team grows, or when you add a second company?
  6. Getting your data out. Can you export everything if you leave?

Where Yako fits

Yako is for owner-led businesses that want their books built from bank statements, their VAT laid out in VAT201 boxes, and their accountant working inside the same books. There is one price per legal entity and no per-user charges. The Standard plan includes 300 AI credits a month, and extra credits are available. Reading CSV and Excel statements doesn’t use credits. It doesn’t file returns for you, has no live bank connections, and its e-invoicing isn’t live yet. If any of those matter now, one of the alternatives above may suit you better.

See Yako’s pricing and how accountant access works.

Common questions

What accounting software do I need for a small business in the UAE?
No particular package is required by law. What you need is software that keeps proper records, gets your VAT return right in the VAT201 format if you are registered, gives you the financial statements your Corporate Tax return is built on, and, from 2027, works with an accredited e-invoicing service provider.
What is the cheapest accounting software in the UAE?
Of the three we compare, Zoho Books has a Free plan for businesses with revenue up to AED 200,000 a year, and Xero Lite is 7 US dollars a month. Both cover basic invoicing and bank reconciliation. Yako is 49 US dollars per legal entity per month with unlimited users and 300 AI credits a month on the Standard plan; extra credits are available, and reading CSV and Excel statements doesn't use credits. The cheapest choice depends on how many users, invoices and companies you have.
Which accounting software is accredited for UAE e-invoicing?
The Ministry of Finance publishes the official list of accredited e-invoicing service providers. On 20 October 2026, Zoho Software Trading LLC was on it. Xero's UAE site says it supports UAE e-invoicing. E-invoicing is not live in Yako yet.
Can accounting software file my UAE VAT return for me?
Some can. Zoho says its Standard plan and above can file VAT returns directly from Zoho Books. Xero says it maps your data to the VAT201 and you upload it to EmaraTax. Yako lays the return out in the VAT201 boxes and you or your adviser file it in EmaraTax.
Do I pay per user for accounting software in the UAE?
It varies. Zoho Books includes a set number of users on each plan and charges for extra users. Yako includes unlimited team members and outside advisers in its per-entity price. Xero's UAE pricing page doesn't state user numbers.
Which accounting software connects to UAE banks?
Xero says it has bank feeds, naming Wio Bank and Alaan among others. Zoho Books lists bank reconciliation on all plans. Yako does not connect to banks directly: you upload statements as PDF, CSV or Excel and Yako reads every line.

Sources

About these comparisons

Prices and features were read from each company’s own website on 20 October 2026 and can change. Check the vendor’s page before you buy. If anything here is out of date, email support@yakobooks.com and we’ll correct it.

Try it free for 15 days. No card.

Try Yako free for 15 days, no card, alongside whatever you use now.

Then $49 per workspace per month. Your data exports any time.

Start free trial